About us

The Ashe County Arts Council
To enrich the cultural life of the region

The Ashe County Arts Council is committed to promoting the arts as a hallmark of an active, engaged community.


The Arts Council offers leadership, collaboration & growth through the arts. The ACAC operates two facilities in Ashe County. An historic WPA building, the Ashe Arts Center, in downtown West Jefferson, houses the offices for the Arts Council, The Gallery, & Gallery Shop. The Ashe Civic Center, a 282 seat theatre space, also serves as the home of the Ashe County Little Theatre. These 2 facilities offer numerous options for arts programming.


As a non-profit organization the ACAC operates with a Board of Directors reflective of Ashe County's population. The ACAC is unusual in that we are not a membership based organization, but feel philosophically that everyone is a part of the Council.


ACAC has a staff of 3 full time employees, a 20 member board, an Advisory Board, & a large core of volunteers who provide an important component to the arts services we provide the county.

The Board of Directors

  • Donna and Bill Apple
  • Chris Arvidson
  • Wesley Barker
  • Michael Bell
  • Amber Dillingham
  • Kathy Howell
  • Dana Johnson
  • Diane and Wayne Johnson
  • John MacConnell
  • Jane and John Maddocks
  • Becky Marsten
  • Dani Mory
  • Ed and Ellie Perzel
  • Diana and Traylor Renfro
  • John and Lucy Smyre
  • Leila Spriggs
  • Becky Strand
  • Horace Thompson
  • Della Vodenicker

The Board of Advisors

  • Joy Campbell
  • Theresa Early Curd
  • Lynne and Dave Eastburn
  • Elaine Graham
  • Connie Hardison
  • Sharon Kasel
  • Barbara Sears
  • Pam Tapp
  • June Weaver


  • Jeff Fissell, Executive Director
  • Linda Dreyer, Director of Operations
  • Rebecca Williams, Program Director